Skip to content

Are You the Living Dead?

June 29, 2010

When you are in the grasp of your ego mind, you are living the blame game. Blaming, complaining, playing the victim, and making excuses. I know when I was wraped firmly in the clutches of my ego all that twisting, turning, pointing fingers became an exhausting life. I wasn’t really living. I wasn’t alive. I was the living dead – and if you’re really honest about your own life of blaming, complaining, and making excuses, you’re also part of the living dead.

Oh sure. Your physical body seems to work or does it? Do you breathe deeply? Or is your breath stuck between your shoulder blades? What about your emotional body? Your spiritual body? Are you alive in them? Can you make the connection between your mind, body, and spirit? Or are you disconnected, discombulated, and dis-eased?

The living dead, zombies if you will, live life disconnected. Things look connected: the head bone’s connected to the neck bone, the neck bone’s connected to the back bone, (are you singing along with me?) and so on. Appearances are deceiving.

What happens when we’re zombies living in zombieville? We’re not in touch with who we truly are. We shrink from the light inside us, prefering the the comfortable misery of self-abuse, insecurity, and our greatest fear of being rejected. We become angry, frustrated, fearful zombies masquerading as human beings.

Zombies lash out and blame others in their line of sight for their circumstances. It doesn’t matter who steps in their direction – they’ll eat them for dinner and rip them to pieces for dessert. If you’re in a zombie’s way count on becoming their next scrum-del-i-cious meal.

I can’t think of anyone who’d want to be a zombie’s next meal because that means you’ve set yourself up – on purpose. You chose to engage the living dead. You decided to prove a point. You opted into someone else’s turmoil. I’ve never come out unscathed from my encounters with the living dead, so if you opt in, I do wish you the best of luck.

So you’ve decided to engage – and now that you’re there, you want to feel validated for your decision. You want to enlist an army of sympathizers who will stand by your side and rally to your cause; rattle their sabers; bang on their shields; and twist in the wind alongside you.

Don’t you think you’ve had enough? Think of the wasted time and energy waging war against reality and the way things really are. Think of how many times you’ve engaged in someone else’s pain and turmoil only to find you’ve been sliced and diced, ripped apart, and left for dead. You’ve willingly become daily fodder for the zombie smorgesbord…and before you know it, you’ve become a zombie yourself…lashing out, growling, and attacking anyone who breathes in your direction.

If you like Zombieville, by all means, suit yourself. Build your house of pain. Tend your garden of self-abuse. Water your lawn of hell. Remove your weeds of hope, love, and peace. Become the living dead.

*****

Are you stuck in old agreements that make you feel as if you are part of the living dead? Are you looking for a way to transform your life and make new, healthy, loving agreements? Register today for Yoga and Reiki Under the Stars and begin your journey towards Wholeness of Mind, Body, and Spirit.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 4:15 am

    Oh Peggy, this is a very strong image and so well said; ” Build your house of pain. Tend your garden of self-abuse. Water your lawn of hell. Remove your weeds of hope, love, and peace. Become the living dead.”
    Indeed, why for heaven’s sake do we do stay in Zombieville when there is so much support on offer to do life totally differently.
    You have a cracker of an offer, way to go to eradicate these Zombies who do so much damage to the people that are around them.
    I have to say that the women who can attend and have chosen to attend are mighty clever in determining their own happy destiny. There is no excuse for us to stay miserable, is there?
    Much love, Wilma

    • Peggy Nolan permalink
      June 30, 2010 11:23 am

      Dear Wilma,

      There are no excuses to stay miserable – at least none that I can think of! Oh, I’m sure I thought of a million ways to stay miserable *before* I got a clue on how to live life differently but now that I *know* there is a different way, there are no excuses. Together, I hope you and I can reach women everywhere to show them a different way! xo Peggy

  2. July 3, 2010 11:25 am

    Hi Peggy .. good thoughts – well to be avoided ones. Fortunately I take life full on – yes I have my moments of negativity – but I’m positive in my attitude etc .. and know that what I do and the way I react is important. It is my responsibility to be me .. and the best me ..

    Thanks – enjoy the weekend celebrations .. Hilary

    • Peggy Nolan permalink
      July 8, 2010 5:15 pm

      Hi Hilary!

      I think we all have our moments, but those of us who are well aware of our moments don’t stand mired in the crap of negativity for too long 🙂 I love the way you take responsibility to be the best you!! xo Peggy

  3. July 3, 2010 4:13 pm

    Hi Peggy,

    I have to admit I do land myself in Zombieville once or twice a month. I’d be walking on water if I didn’t, right. However I refuse to set up camp there. When I have a pity party I have a big one…then I’m done with it;O)

    • Peggy Nolan permalink
      July 8, 2010 5:19 pm

      Hi Tess,

      My best friend and I used to help each other out when it came to colassal pity parties…I came up with the five minute rule. If she called me while she was having a pity party, I’d put her on the clock…”Ok, you’ve got five minutes, spill and be done.” And likewise, she’d do the same thing for me. For many years, we did a lot of that for each other…hmmmm…we both must have been camped out in Zombieville for a LONG time! At any rate, we don’t call each other as often and these days it’s more to catch up on life and what we’re do-ing…perhaps we’ve grown in our abilities to remember to check out of Zombieville nearly as fast as we checked in…

Leave a Reply

